Coffee events calendar: SCAJ World Specialty Coffee Conference and Exhibition, Oct 14–17 and 25 more coming up
CoffeeHow
About CoffeeHow Authors How We Test Editorial Policy Affiliate Disclosure Health Disclaimer Research Sources
Start with brew guides
Popular French press Pour over Drip coffee maker Cold brew Siphon Espresso beans

Coffee Advent Calendars 2026: 6 Specialty Calendars Compared

Six specialty coffee advent calendars for 2026 compared: Onyx, The Barn, KaffeBox, The Roses and more. Price per 100 g, roast, shipping and order deadlines.

Written from hands-on coffee experience and checked against our editorial standards. Editorial policy · Research sources

A specialty coffee advent calendar gives you a different whole-bean coffee every day from December 1 to Christmas Eve. Six specialty calendars on sale for 2026 are compared here, from €70 to about €199 before shipping. Of the six, the Swedish Coffee Advent Calendar is the cheapest per gram. The Barn is the best value of those with 50 g or more a day, and the only one of the six where all 24 coffees are roasted omni-style, for both filter and espresso. Onyx has the most open lineup of the six but the earliest deadline: October 31 for international orders. KaffeBox and The Roses are the ones to pick if you want to taste many roasters, not one.

Researched, not tested: this compares the 2026 calendars from their roasters’ published details, checked on October 13, 2026, and from published reviews. There are no affiliate links on this page.

The short version
  • Cheapest of the six: Coffee Advent Calendar (Sweden), €70 for 24 × 30 g. About €9.70 per 100 g.
  • Best of the six for espresso and filter: The Barn, €129 for 24 × 50 g, roasted omni-style. €13.50 shipping to Italy.
  • Most open lineup of the six: Onyx Coffee Lab, all 24 coffees published, ending on a Panama Gesha. $189 (US, early price) or €171.95 (EU). Order by October 31 from outside the US.
  • Most roasters of the six: The Roses, 24 European roasters in one box, but only 20 g a day. KaffeBox, 12 Nordic roasters at 50 g a day.
  • Ordering from the US: Onyx and The Roasters Pack ship from North America; order Onyx by November 15 for December 1.
A tabby cat reaching over a wooden crate with an ice-skate ornament, above red Christmas coffee bags, a Santa figurine and a Merry Christmas mug on a kitchen counter
Sasha’s kitchen counter in Rome, set up for December, with her cat inspecting. Photo: Sasha Pavlovich.

I live in Rome, and I’m choosing a calendar for myself this year. Two things decide it: the box has to reach Rome by December 1, and the coffee has to suit my V60, because pour over is how I like to brew. From December 1 I’ll open one door a day and write a detailed note on every coffee.

I compared six calendars on five things: price (and price per 100 g, which I worked out myself), the coffees and roast, packaging and design, shipping, and what people who’ve bought them say. Prices can still change before December, so check the cart before you pay. The cover photo is mine; the calendar photos are the roasters’ own, credited under each one.

Coffee advent calendars 2026 compared

The six split into two kinds. One roaster showing its best lots: Onyx and The Barn. Or a curated box from many roasters: KaffeBox, The Roses, the Swedish Coffee Advent Calendar and The Roasters Pack. All six are whole bean, which matters more than it sounds (see freshness below).

CalendarPriceCoffee insideRoastPer 100 gPer day
Coffee Advent Calendar (Sweden)€7024 × 30 g, 6 roastersFilter€9.70€2.90
The Barn (Berlin)€12924 × 50 g, 1 roasterOmni (filter and espresso)€10.75€5.40
Onyx Coffee Lab (US)€171.95 EU / $189 US (early prices)24 × 56 g, 1 roasterFilter€12.80€7.15
KaffeBox (Norway)2,195 NOK (about €199)24 × 50 g, 12 roastersFilterabout €16.60about €8.30
The Roses (Czechia)€82.9024 × 20 g, 24 roastersFilter€17.30€3.45
The Roasters Pack (Canada)CA$139.95 (20 g) / CA$249.95 (50 g)26 × 20 or 50 g, 26 roastersLight only, or light to dark20 g: CA$26.90 (about €16.90)
50 g: CA$19.20 (about €12.05)
20 g: CA$5.40 (about €3.40)
50 g: CA$9.60 (about €6.05)
Prices from each roaster’s site on October 13, 2026, without shipping. Per 100 g and per day are our math; The Roasters Pack has 26 days. Canadian dollars converted at the European Central Bank rate of October 12, 2026 (CA$1 = €0.627).

Onyx’s US store lists $189 as an early price, down from $220. The Roasters Pack’s US store sells the same calendar for $129.95 (20 g) or $199.95 (50 g).

The six calendars

Onyx Coffee Lab 2026 Advent Calendar

The red Onyx Coffee Lab advent calendar box on a marble table beside an amber glass dripper and cup, with a Christmas tree behind
The Onyx box: 24 coffees, 56 g each. Photo courtesy of Onyx Coffee Lab.

The most open of the six: Onyx has published all 24 coffees in advance. Each day is 56 g (2 oz) of whole bean. Bean Box curator Maryna Gray counts 22 single origins from 10 countries. They include a Colombian Pink Bourbon and Chiroso, a Guatemalan Maracaturra, an anaerobic Yirgacheffe, a coffee from India, and a Panama Gesha from Chevas for December 24. Two days, 5 and 13, are the holiday blends Framily and Krampus.

Onyx roasts on a schedule so each coffee has rested at least 28 days by its day. Resting lets roasting gas escape; light roasts brew more evenly after it. The box comes with a hand-illustrated 500-piece jigsaw, a new brew guide from a coffee professional every morning, and a web game, The Longest Night, from December 5.

  • Official page: Onyx US store · Onyx EU store
  • Good for: rare varieties, and anyone who wants to know the lineup before paying.
  • Watch out: one roaster for all 24 days, and the earliest order deadline.

The Barn Inspiration Coffee Advent Calendar

The Barn's 2026 advent calendar box, illustrated with a snowy forest cabin, a campfire and a lit Christmas tree, with numbered doors
The Barn’s calendar, drawn by Alesia Majytava. Photo courtesy of THE BARN.

24 single origins of 50 g (1.8 oz) each, 1.2 kg (2.6 lb) in total, from producers The Barn works with closely. The difference from the rest: it’s roasted omni-style, so the same coffee works for filter and espresso. The Barn hasn’t named the 24 coffees, but its blog gives the map: 10 regions, from Kenya and Ethiopia to Colombia, Costa Rica, Rwanda and Indonesia, with varieties including Pink Bourbon, Pacamara, Gesha and Kenya’s SL28 and SL34.

The box was illustrated by the artist Alesia Majytava and comes with a tasting diary describing every lot. If you like a coffee, you can order a full bag from its day in the calendar; The Barn roasts those orders after Christmas.

  • Official page: THE BARN: Inspiration Coffee Advent Calendar
  • Good for: a home espresso machine, and the lowest price per gram of the calendars here with 50 g or more a day.
  • Watch out: the earliest stated roast here, shortly before shipping in early October. By late December the coffee is about 11 to 12 weeks off roast. One calendar per international order, no returns.

KaffeBox Scandinavian Specialty Coffee Advent Calendar

A green KaffeBox metal tube numbered 24, open and full of coffee beans, next to a glass server of filter coffee, with the rest of the calendar's tubes behind
KaffeBox packs each day’s 50 g in a numbered metal tube with a lined lid. Photo courtesy of KaffeBox.

A curated box: 12 micro-roasters, two coffees each, in 24 metal tubes of 50 g of filter roast. KaffeBox says each tube makes four to five cups. Roasters shown for 2026 include JACU, Coffee Collective, Prolog, Kokko, Friedhats and Sensei. The lineup is a surprise, but KaffeBox promises several Geshas.

The tubes have tight, lined lids. The design, by Viki Bernataviciute, borrows from old Christmas postage stamps. A booklet has V60 recipes and space for your notes. KaffeBox gives 200 NOK from every calendar to charity: water. The coffee is roasted on November 10 and ships November 20.

  • Official page: KaffeBox: 2026 Specialty Coffee Advent Calendar
  • Good for: Nordic light roasts, and EU buyers: orders ship from inside the EU, so no customs.
  • Watch out: the most expensive box of the European calendars here, at about €199. Per gram, The Roses costs a little more.

The Roses Specialty Coffee Advent Calendar

The Roses specialty coffee advent calendar, a navy and cream box reading 24 European roasteries from 12 countries, standing on a wooden table
The Roses: 24 roasters from 12 European countries, 20 g a day. Photo courtesy of The Roses.

The widest map of the six: 24 roasters from 12 European countries, a different one every day. The Roses lists them on its 2026 page, and the list matches its 2026 roastery map. Among them are Nomad from Barcelona, Standout from Sweden, Manhattan from Rotterdam, Man Versus Machine from Munich, and Sumo and Calendar Coffee from Ireland. Everything is roasted for filter. The page calls this the eighth edition but in one place still says seventh, so it has been partly carried over from last year; if one roaster is the reason you’re buying, confirm it’s in the 2026 box.

The portion is the smallest here: 20 g (0.7 oz) per tin, one cup. Each tin is printed with the country, process, altitude and variety. A window opens on The Roses’ site every day with that coffee’s brew recipe.

Coffee Advent Calendar (Sweden)

An open kraft box of the Swedish Kaffeadventskalendern with numbered black coffee pouches and a red booklet in front
The Swedish calendar: numbered 30 g pouches and a booklet on each roaster. Photo courtesy of Coffee Advent Calendar.

24 coffees from six Nordic micro-roasters, 30 g (1.1 oz) of whole bean each, 720 g (1.6 lb) in total. The roasters say every coffee this year works in a drip machine, Chemex or other filter brewer, with light, medium and dark roasts in the mix. A booklet introduces each roaster and each day’s coffee. The coffee is roasted at the end of October and is best before the end of January 2027.

The Roasters Pack 2026 Coffee Advent Calendar

The Roasters Pack 2026 Coffee Advent Calendar, a long white box open to show a row of green coffee pouches
The Roasters Pack: 26 coffees from 26 roasters, including a mystery one. Photo courtesy of The Roasters Pack.

26 whole-bean coffees from 26 small-batch roasters, including a mystery 26th you’re invited to guess. You choose light roasts only (best for filter) or light to dark (filter or espresso), and 20 g or 50 g a day. The box has a tasting journal, daily videos and a CA$10 gift card. The same company sells a Rare & Competition calendar: 12 coffees from 12 roasters, 32 g each, for CA$274.95.

  • Official page: Canadian store · US store · Rare & Competition calendar
  • Good for: US, Canadian and UK readers: shipping there is free.
  • Watch out: the small 20 g box is one of the dearest per gram here (about €16.90 per 100 g). Europe is by request only, from Toronto, with customs.

Shipping and order deadlines

Onyx has the tightest deadline: from outside the US, it only guarantees December 1 delivery for orders placed by October 31. In Europe the easy options are the European roasters. The Barn and KaffeBox ship to Italy without customs, for €13.50 to about €30.

CalendarTo Italy and the EUTo the USShipsOrder by
The BarnUPS €13.50 or FedEx €14 (1–5 kg), 2–5 working daysUPS €44From early OctoberWhile stocks last
KaffeBoxFrom inside the EU, no customs: DHL Express 349 NOK (about €30), 2–4 days, or DHL Freight 195 NOK (about €17), 3–10 daysDHL Express, duties includedNovember 20November 20
Onyx Coffee LabEU store: free over €50US storeFrom November 16October 31 (international), November 15 (US)
The RosesCost to Italy not listedNot listedNovember 20While stocks last
Coffee Advent Calendar€7.40 shown, country not statedNot listedNot statedNot stated
The Roasters PackBy request, from CanadaFreeEarly to mid NovemberNot stated
From each roaster’s shipping information on October 13, 2026.

The Onyx EU store doesn’t say where it ships from or whether customs apply, so ask before you pay. A parcel from Canada to Italy will almost certainly go through customs, with import VAT on top. The Roses’ Czech page gives November 24 as the ship date and the English page November 20; if timing is tight, check with them.

Freshness: when each calendar is roasted

Day 24 is drunk weeks after roasting, so roast timing matters. Whole bean keeps far better than ground: once ground, coffee loses its aroma in days, not weeks. All six calendars here are whole bean; if you’re comparing others, skip the ground ones.

  • Onyx: roasted on a schedule so each coffee has rested at least 28 days by its day.
  • KaffeBox: roasted November 10. Day 1 is three weeks off roast, day 24 about six weeks.
  • Coffee Advent Calendar: roasted at the end of October, best before the end of January 2027.
  • The Barn: roasted shortly before shipping starts in early October. By Christmas Eve, that’s 11 to 12 weeks.

Keep the calendar somewhere cool and dark, away from the oven and radiator, and grind each day’s coffee just before you brew.

How to brew a 20 g, 30 g or 50 g portion

The daily dose decides how many cups you get and how many tries you have to get a new coffee right. At a 1:15 ratio, 1 g of coffee to 15 g of water, this is how much water each portion takes. You’ll get a little less in the cup, because the wet grounds hold some back. Our coffee to water ratio calculator does the math for other sizes.

Daily portionCalendarsBrewing water at 1:15Roughly
20 g (0.7 oz)The Roses, The Roasters Pack small300 g (10.6 fl oz)One cup
30 g (1.1 oz)Coffee Advent Calendar450 g (15.2 fl oz)Two small cups
50 g (1.8 oz)The Barn, KaffeBox, The Roasters Pack large750 g (25.4 fl oz)About three mugs; KaffeBox counts four to five smaller cups
56 g (2 oz)Onyx840 g (28.4 fl oz)Three to four cups

Filter roasts are light. In an espresso machine they tend to pull sour and thin, so brew them as pour over, Chemex or AeroPress. With a small dose, a single cup of AeroPress is the most forgiving: you can change the grind tomorrow. If you want espresso, The Barn’s omni roast, or The Roasters Pack’s light-to-dark box, are the ones built for it; our espresso guide covers dialing in a new coffee. Each coffee will need its own grind, so start from our grind chart.

What reviewers and buyers say

The evidence below comes from three kinds of source, and they don’t carry the same weight, so they’re kept apart. Most of it is about earlier editions, not the 2026 boxes.

Independent reviews

Onyx (an earlier edition). The Low-Key Coffee Snobs blog bought and brewed an earlier Onyx calendar. It liked the range of origins and processes and the amount: 2 oz a day was enough for two. Its cons were one roaster for all 24 days and the price, which it put at about $2.63 a cup.

KaffeBox (earlier editions). In a 2020 roundup, Sprudge noted that past KaffeBox calendars had included several Geshas and coffees from well-known producers. That’s an editorial roundup, not a tasting review.

What the sellers and roasters say

  • Onyx: Maryna Gray, curator at Bean Box, which sells the Onyx calendar, and a Cup of Excellence juror, writes that she has bought it five years in a row. She counts 22 single origins from 10 countries in 2026 and singles out the Gesha on Christmas Eve.
  • KaffeBox: founder Tyler Olson told Barista Magazine in 2024 that the calendar “focuses on Scandinavian roasters showcasing their best coffees.”
  • The Barn: founder Ralf Rüller told Barista Magazine in 2024: “Everything you need to know about The Barn is in this calendar box.” The roaster says last year’s calendar sold out far too early.

Buyer reviews on sellers’ pages

These are a handful of reviews on the pages that sell each calendar, not a representative sample, and some were written about earlier editions.

  • Onyx, on Bean Box: one buyer’s package arrived damaged; another wrote that more than $8 a day for 2 oz of coffee is a lot.
  • The Roses, on its own page: 5 out of 5 from 30 ratings. Reviewers mention the packaging and the recipes on the site, and some say they buy it every year. The cons they name: the price, and not always having the gear a recipe calls for.

Which coffee advent calendar to choose

There’s no perfect calendar, only one that suits how you brew and what you want to learn in December. My own two rules, a filter roast for the V60 and delivery to Rome by December 1, leave KaffeBox and The Roses (filter roasts, shipped from inside the EU on November 20) and The Barn (omni roast, already shipping). Onyx is a filter roast too, but from Italy it means ordering by October 31 and asking about customs first.

  • Espresso machine at home, and filter too: The Barn. Omni roast, 50 g a day and the lowest price per gram of the calendars here with 50 g or more a day, plus €13.50 shipping to Rome.
  • Rare varieties and the whole show, puzzle and game included: Onyx. One condition: order by October 31 from outside the US, or November 15 in the US.
  • Comparing roasters’ styles: KaffeBox for Scandinavian light roasts, or The Roses for a trip through 12 European countries. The Roses’ portion is one cup; KaffeBox’s is four to five.
  • Trying the format on a budget: the Swedish Coffee Advent Calendar at €70.
  • In the US or Canada: Onyx, or The Roasters Pack with free shipping and a light-roast-only option.

Know another calendar?

I’m adding to this list all autumn. If you know a specialty advent calendar that isn’t here, or you roast coffee and make one for 2026, tell me in the comments. I’ll add it to my wishlist and to this page.

FAQ

When should I order a coffee advent calendar?

By the end of October to be safe. Onyx only guarantees December 1 delivery for international orders placed by October 31 (November 15 in the US), KaffeBox’s cutoff is November 20, and The Barn and The Roses sell until they run out.

What is the cheapest specialty coffee advent calendar in 2026?

Of the six compared here, the Swedish Coffee Advent Calendar: €70 for 24 × 30 g of whole bean, about €9.70 per 100 g. It’s also the cheapest per day, at about €2.90.

Which coffee advent calendar works for espresso?

The Barn’s Inspiration calendar is roasted omni-style for both filter and espresso, and The Roasters Pack offers a light-to-dark option for espresso. The other calendars here are filter roasts, which tend to taste sour as espresso.

Whole bean or ground coffee advent calendar?

Whole bean. By December 1 the coffee in most calendars is already weeks off roast, and ground coffee loses its aroma within days. Grind each day’s dose just before brewing.

How much coffee is in a coffee advent calendar?

From 20 g a day (one cup) to 56 g a day. The Roses gives 20 g, the Swedish Coffee Advent Calendar 30 g, The Barn and KaffeBox 50 g, Onyx 56 g, and The Roasters Pack 20 or 50 g.

Which coffee advent calendars ship to the US?

Onyx Coffee Lab ships from the US (order by November 15 for December 1), and The Roasters Pack ships free to the US from Canada. KaffeBox ships worldwide with duties included, and The Barn ships to the US for €44 by UPS.

Sources

How we work: how we test · editorial policy · research & sources.

About the author

Sasha Pavlovich

Founder and editor · Barista and coffee educator

A former professional barista working hands-on with coffee since 2011, Sasha founded CoffeeHow and edits everything we publish. Sasha holds certificates in sensory cup tasting, coffee roasting and green coffee analysis from Instituto Español de Café and tests coffee and equipment from Rome, Italy.

  • Espresso
  • Brew methods
  • Coffee beans
  • Roasting
  • Sensory evaluation
  • Coffee gear
More in Coffee Beans